US Open

Out of the many events that I get the photograph every year, few excite more than the US Open of Surf. The combination of  extreme  sports, youth, the beach, and California culture in general is  epitomized in this event. Along with the experience is the challenge to be different. Scores of photographers show up to this event to lay their claim to a great photograph of a professional athlete.

Like with many other events my speed graphic was in tow. In fact I traveled very light only taking a D700 eith the 14-24mm, my D7000 with a 300mm (swapped with a 200mm mid day) and the speed graphic. Of course this isn’t my first year hoisting the antique nor the first time using it in sports, but in time I hope to refine my  technique. BElow are the pictures from last year. I will attempt to process the pics from Sunday tomorrow hopefully with some great photographs.

us-open-1001-1 us-open-1002-1 us-open-1003-1

Leave a comment