Trip to Samys…

As many know I do moto photography (yes that is one of my cameras). From time to time I take them into Nikon to get them checked and repaired. While gear I purchase used goes directly to nikon, the new stuff (all purchased at samy’s) goes to nikon through samy’s due to the warranty.

Saturday was one of those days I went in to get a camera repaired. Upon arriving, there was a cute Asian lady in front of me getting her camera inspected. I assumed this would take only a few minutes. After 15 of trying to explain that it was the charger that was broken and her exposure mode was wrong he proceeded to tell her that she will have to search e-bay for the part as “poloroid” no longer makes it anymore. Now don’t get me wrong, this was a huge poloroid (possibly a back on some odd large format camera) they were talking about. The camera appeared professional as no sane consumer would buy (or carry around) something of that size (around 12″x12″x6″).  Unfortunately for her she didn’t get the memo that this was tech over 20years old and much has changed since then…

Morale of the story is”Don’t bury your head in the sand from the technical stuff”.  She appeared surprised that poloroid didn’t make cameras anymore.  Another lesson is to keep up with the status of old tech. If you plan on using a process for ever & ever, be aware that parts, films, chemicals & interfaces, and even the companies who make and support the process may be gone one day….

One thought on “Trip to Samys…

Leave a comment